FOUC when there are GSAP animations above the fold

Hello! :wave:

Is there any way of removing FOUC, when loading a page for the first time that has GSAP animations above the fold?

In the main hero, I have set up some animations that fire on page load.

However, when first visiting the site, you can see a very annoying FOUC with default font-family. Also, at the very first milliseconds you can see on the page all the animated items, then disappear and then re-enter with the expected GSAP animation :woman_facepalming:

Am I doing something wrong? How can I prevent those FOUC?

I have found this: Quick Tip: Removing a Flash of Unstyled Content (FOUC) - Learning Center - GreenSock, but I am not able to understand how I can implement this withing Bricksforge.

I have used Motion.page since its release for animations, and never experience this. Now I am switching to Bricksforge and this is my first time using it for animations, so maybe I am doing something wrong :confused:

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :slight_smile:

Hey :slight_smile:

FOUC is something normal … we have it also when using plain GSAP code written in JavaScript. The solution from “Greensock” is easy to implement and will work well:

Apply visibility: hidden; to your elements in CSS and then use GSAP’s autoAlpha property to show it (or animate it in) when the page loads. autoAlpha affects opacity and visibility , changing it to visible when the opacity is greater than 0. Pretty convenient!

So in short:

1. For your elements you are animating, pre-add visibility: hidden via CSS or Bricks Controls
  2. In the Bricksforge Panel, add {autoAlpha: 1} for “to” animations or {autoAlpha: 0} for “from” animations.

That should do the trick :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thank you very much, Daniele!

This has worked perfectly :slight_smile:

1 Like

What if you change to a From To animation?

To: {autoAlpha: 1}

Text is still invisible

The animations work except for the FOUC